Premier Group Overhauls Leadership: New Chairman, Committees Restructured

  • Premier Group Limited announces significant changes to its board leadership and committee structure.
  • Mr. Corrie Roodt, Chairman, to step down after successful 12-year tenure, while Mr. Iaan van Heerden appointed as new Chairman.
  • Ms. Faith Khanyile named Lead Independent Director; Mr. Rolf Hartmann resigns; committees reconstituted for enhanced governance.

Premier Group Limited has made sweeping changes to its board leadership and committee composition in a strategic move aimed at reinforcing its governance framework and driving the company forward into a new era.

In compliance with paragraph 3.59 of the JSE Listings Requirements, Premier Group Limited has announced that Mr. Corrie Roodt, the longstanding Chairman of the Premier Board of Directors, will be stepping down from his role. Mr. Roodt’s resignation will become effective following the conclusion of the Company’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) scheduled for Tuesday, 5 September 2023. Having adeptly guided the Company through a significant transitional phase, Mr. Roodt will continue his association with Premier as an independent, non-executive director of the Board until 31 March 2024, aligning with the close of the current financial year.

The Board expressed deep appreciation for Mr. Roodt’s remarkable 12-year tenure, during which he played a pivotal role in charting Premier’s course and leading it into its present listed phase. The Board looks forward to leveraging his expertise and experience during his extended tenure on the Board.

Stepping into the role of Chairman of the Board is Mr. Iaan van Heerden, a current non-executive director. Mr. van Heerden’s appointment, effective post-AGM, marks a significant transition in Premier’s leadership. Having been an integral part of the Board since June 2021, Mr. van Heerden is well poised to guide Premier toward its future goals, underpinned by his deep understanding of the company’s dynamics.

In line with King IV and paragraph 3.84(b) of the JSE Listings Requirements, Ms. Faith Khanyile, a distinguished independent non-executive director, has been named Premier’s Lead Independent Director. Effective after the AGM, this appointment underscores Premier’s unwavering commitment to robust corporate governance standards and emphasizes the vital role of independent oversight.

Adding to the changes, Mr. Rolf Hartmann, a director with a remarkable 16-year tenure, has chosen not to seek re-election at the AGM. Consequently, he will resign from the Board following the AGM’s conclusion. This step will also prompt his departure from key committees, including the Audit and Risk, Social and Ethics, and Remuneration and Nomination Committees. Mr. Hartmann’s legacy is one of impactful contributions to Premier’s growth, and the Board expresses its sincere gratitude for his dedication and guidance.

In a related adjustment, the tenure of Mr. Peter Hayward-Butt, an alternate director to Mr. Hartmann, will conclude simultaneously with the AGM. The Company plans to nominate Mr. Hayward-Butt as an alternate director to Mr. Jonathan Matthews, a current non-executive director, subject to the approval of shareholders.

Consequent to these changes, the Board has implemented a reconstitution of its committees, aligning with its commitment to effective governance practices. Key committee appointments include:

Audit and RiskMr. Harish RamsumerMs. Faith Khanyile, Mr. Jonathan Matthews
Social and EthicsMr. Wandile SihloboMs. Faith Khanyile, Mr. Jonathan Matthews
Remuneration and NominationMr. Jonathan MatthewsMr. Corrie Roodt, Mr. Iaan Van Heerden

Premier Group Limited emphasizes that these changes will maintain the integrity and effectiveness of the Board’s committees, ensuring that the company’s governance practices remain robust and aligned with best practices.

Visited 1 times, 1 visit(s) today

Stay ahead in the financial world – Sign Up to Rateweb’s essential newsletter for free. Get the latest insights on business trends, tech innovations, and market movements, directly to your inbox. Join our community of savvy readers and never miss an update that could impact your financial decisions.

Do you have a news tip for Rateweb reporters? Please email us at


Personal Financial Tools

Below is a list of tools built to assist South Africans to make the best financial decisions:



South Africa’s primary source of financial tools and information

Contact Us


Rateweb strives to keep its information accurate and up to date. This information may be different than what you see when you visit a financial institution, service provider or specific product’s site. All financial products, shopping products and services are presented without warranty. When evaluating offers, please review the financial institution’s Terms and Conditions.

Rateweb is not a financial service provider and should in no way be seen as one. In compiling the articles for our website due caution was exercised in an attempt to gather information from reliable and accurate sources. The articles are of a general nature and do not purport to offer specialised and or personalised financial or investment advice. Neither the author, nor the publisher, will accept any responsibility for losses, omissions, errors, fortunes or misfortunes that may be suffered by any person that acts or refrains from acting as a result of these articles.